Facebook face recognition now refreshed in a better way, not as it was when introduced first in 2017. Facebook announced via their blog on Tuesday about the feature improvement of the face recognition tagging.

This setting allows Facebook to recognize whether you are in a photo or video, and this feature is turned off by default as a new user on facebook. Facebook now sends a notification to its new users, or those who previously had the tag suggestions setting will have the face recognition setting and will receive information about how it works.

Facebook notification: The face recognition setting is now available to you. Let us know if you want to keep it on or turn it off.

How Facebook Use face Recognition

If this setting is turned on, Facebook will create a face recognition template and use it in the following types of ways:

  • Find photos and video you’re in so we can help you review or share content, suggest tags, and provide more relevant content and feature recommendations.
  • Help protect you and others from impersonation and identity misuse and improve platform reliability
  • Provide accessibility features by telling people with visual impairments whos in a photo or video

What Facebook Collect

Face recognition is a technology that analyses photos and videos you’re in to calculate a unique number, called a “template.” When your face recognition setting is on, a template is created and used to compare to analyzes of other photos or video to recognize if you appear in that content.

Facebook doesn’t share your template while your account is active but will delete it if you turn your face recognition setting off.

Do you want to turn on the face recognition setting? 

When face recognition is on:

Facebook

  • can notify you about photos you’re in but haven’t been tagged in.
  • can help protect against someone using your photo to impersonate you.
  • can tell people with visual impairments when you’re in a photo or video through a screen reader.

When Face recognition is off:

  • You will be notified by Facebook you’re tagged in a photo
  • Facebook won’t be able to use face recognition to help stop someone from impersonating you, but we’ll continue to work to protect your account in other ways
  • People with visual impairments will be told if you are in a photo, only if you are tagged.Choose to keep this setting ON or OFF

This information is gotten from facebook 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here